Read-y, Get Set, Go! ;)

Standard

Hey there SPF’s (Slumber Party Friends)! :>

What’s up?

It’s such a hot day, I think I’m gonna go crazy! Seriously. I wanted to take a nap before writing a post but alas, the heat won’t let me. HUHU. The fans here in the dorm aren’t helping alleviate it. -_-

Since I couldn’t go to sleep, I decided to just make the post now. Hihi. (Pardon me but my brain’s not working properly.)

What’s with the title?

I thought up Read-y, Get Set, Go! because I’m going to talk about none other than reading! HAHA. I just wanted to talk about the book and the mag I bought from Natio (yeah, that’s what I call National Bookstore. Haha) this afternoon. Don’t worry, it’s not something heavy. All light and fun readsย (I hope!).

Candy-licious!

If you’re thinking of Candy mag after reading Candy-licious, you’re spot-on! I just bought their April issue and I immediately browsed through it when I got home. I have always been a Candy girl and even though there are times when I come across articles that are just so-so for me, I still love having issues of this oh-so-pretty mag.

Their April ish features Jennifer Lawrence who played Katniss Everdeen in the recently released movie adaptation of Hunger Games on the cover. The ish has a free bracelet charm to celebrate Candy mag’s 13th year. It also has a “mini-mag” for beauty and skin care tips.

Photo taken from Candy Magazine’s Facebook page

Inside the mag, I saw some familiar faces like Hye Won Jang, a schoolmate of mine who used to be my friend’s crush and Rammy Bitong, my friend’s friend and my block mate’s younger brother. (You can see Hye Won in the Pretty Picturesque part while you can see Rammy in the Summer Love part.)

What did you like in the mag?

I of course liked everything about fashion there especially Kawaii Girl, Style Stars and the fashion guide. I also liked the Home Spa 101, Tea Tripping, Around the World in 12 ways (this gave me quite a laugh!), Summer Love, the DIY Special, What’s Your Summer Mood?, Fuel Your Passion and of course, the Oops! part. HAHAHAHA. What about you, what did you like? ๐Ÿ™‚

Mga bakla, magsanib-pwersa na!

Now that I’ve told you about the mag I bought, I’m going to tell you about the book I bought.

Si Amapola sa 65 na Kabanata by Ricky Lee is the book that I chose for our Filipino book report. It’s about Amapola, the gay impersonator-turned-manananggal who was, according to a prophecy, destined to save the Philippines. I chose it because for one, I love gays. Also, judging by the synopsis on the back cover (yes, I judged the book by its cover. :|), I could see an entertaining read ahead of me. :)) I mean seriously, could it get any funnier than having a Noranian police officer telling you that you will save the Philippines, or that the prophecy was given by someone from the Hispanic era who had unrequited love for Andres Bonifacio?

Photo taken from goodreads.com

Oh well, it might be funny or it might be not but I’ll only find out when I finish reading it. When I do, I’ll tell you about it. Hihi ๐Ÿ˜‰

What about you, read something recently that you wanna talk about? Feel free to share! ๐Ÿ˜€

 

Ta-ta for now,

Image

One response »

  1. Pingback: Taking Cover « WinterSlumber

Leave a Reply

